Fall 2013 Allen Chair Symposium: The Energy-Water Nexus


Each year, the Allen Chair Symposium explores a topic of national and international interest.  The 2013 Allen Chair Symposium is dedicated to the energy-water nexus and discussing how the law can support resilient water and energy policies.  Panels will explore relationships between fuel extraction and water resources, water scarcity and energy reliability, and energy and water resource management.

The Energy Policy Act of 2005 directed the U.S. Department of Energy to establish a federal program that would address (1) energy-related issues associated with provision of adequate water supplies, optimal management, and efficient use of water; (2) water-related issues associated with the provision of adequate supplies, optimal management, and efficient use of energy; and (3) assess existing federal programs addressing energy and water related issues.  42 U.S.C. § 16319.  The Department released an initial report in December 2006; however, energy and water resource planning remains incomplete or fragmented.  See U.S. Gov’t Accountability Office, Coordinated Federal Approach Needed to Better Manage Energy and Water Tradeoffs (Sept. 13, 2012); U.S. Dept. of Energy, Energy Demands on Water Resources 9 (Dec. 2006).

Trends in energy use, water availability, and water demand indicate that we must improve energy and water resource management.  As the United States moves towards domestic energy sources, its population continues to grow, groundwater tables continue to decline, and the climate continues to change, issues at the energy-water nexus will become increasingly prevalent.  The 2013 Allen Chair Symposium will examine tradeoffs and conflicts between the resources, and also discuss how the law can support an integrated nexus approach to resource management.

The event begins with a continental breakfast and coffee at 8:30am.  Presentations will begin at 9:00am and end at approximately 3:30pm.  Lunch will be provided between noon and 1:00pm, and a reception will follow the event.  Details on registration and attendance are available at http://allenchairsymposium.eventbrite.com/. More information about the schedule will be announced at the beginning of the fall semester.

Scheduled speakers include:

Professor Joshua P. Fershee, West Virginia University
Professor Gabriel E. Eckstein, Texas Wesleyan University
Professor Keith B. Hall, Louisiana State University
Professor Donald T. Hornstein, University of North Carolina
Professor Shi-Ling Hsu, Florida State University
Professor Rhett Larson, University of Oklahoma
Professor Amanda Leiter, American University
Professor Uma Outka, University of Kansas
Professor Justin Pidot, University of Denver
Professor Melissa Powers, Lewis & Clark College
Mr. Jefferson D. Reynolds, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Dr. Benjamin K. Sovacool & Mr. Alex Gilbert, Vermont Law School
Ms. Andrea Wortzel, Hunton & Williams